About MetSoc

MetSoc – Background

About Metsoc - MetallurgyThe Metallurgy and Materials Society Metallurgists have been active in CIM since its inception in 1898.

In 1945, the Metallurgy Division was formed to reflect the group’s technical interests. Constituted as a Society in 1967, the Metallurgical Society (MetSoc) is one of the four societies and five divisions making up the Canadian Institute of Mining, Metallurgy, and Petroleum. In October of 2010, the Society adopted its new name The Metallurgy and Materials Society.

The Society is composed of six technical sections, representing the technical diversity of the metals, minerals and materials community, and of four standing committees dedicated to the various member services of the Society. Each section and committee establishes a yearly program of activities in response to its member’s interests.

The main purpose of the sections is to create forums for the sharing of ideas or the analysis of problems. Representatives of each section are responsible for the organization of technical meetings and symposia to deal with current issues in their area of expertise. These events occur at the Annual Conference of Metallurgists, the Hydrometallurgy Annual Meeting, and the CIM Annual General Meeting or at specific international symposia and regional meetings.

The organization of short courses, workshops, seminars, symposia, or special publication projects are considered by the sections that collaborate with the appropriate standing committees in order to achieve their goals.

Photo: Richard Mack / Workbook Stock / Getty Images
METSOC is a constituent society of the Canadian Institute of Mining, Metallurgy and Petroleum (CIM).
Switch to desktop