2018 Awards Winners

Introduction to MetSoc Awards Program

Awards Program for MetSocA fundamental responsibility of the Metallurgy and Materials Society of CIM is to recognize and honour those members who have excelled through their outstanding achievements and contributions to metallurgy and related fields. By bestowing appropriate awards, the Society encourages high standards of endeavour and focuses the attention of peers and public alike on the accomplishments and careers of its most talented members.

2018 Award Recipients Recognition of Excellence

We would like to congratulate all of our MetSoc award recipients for their outstanding contributions to the profession and industry and setting the highest standards for the student and future members of our society.

MetSoc Airey Award, sponsored by XPS, Expert Process Solutions
Sam Marcuson, Vale (retired)

Silver Medal
Priti Wanjara, NRC

MetSoc Brimacombe Award
Jun Song, McGill University

MetSoc Innovation Award
Hatch Non-Destructive Testing (NDT) Group for the Acousto Ultrasonic-Echo (AU-E) technique process (Dr. Sadri)

CIM Distinguished Lecturer
Mary Wells, University of Guelph

CIM Fellowship
Greg Richards, Teck Metals Limited
Daolun Chen, Ryerson University

Sherritt Hydrometallurgy Award
T.T. Chen, CANMETmining (retired)

MetSoc Distinguished Materials Scientist Award
Xinjin Cao, NRC Aerospace Manufacturing Technology Centre

Pyrometallurgy Best Paper Award
S. Sokhanvaran1 and D. Paktunc for their paper entitled “THE EFFECT OF FLUXING AGENT ON DIRECT REDUCTION OF CHROMITE ORE”
Published in the Proceedings of COM2017 -56th annual Conference of Metallurgists hosting World Gold & Nickel Cobalt Proceedings ISBN: 978-1-926872-36-0 by the Canadian Institute of Mining, Metallurgy & Petroleum.

Light Metals Best Paper Award
J.R. Kennedy, J.H. Park, J. Zollinger,D. Daloz and E. Bouzy for their paper entitled “EFFECTS OF Ti-Ta ALLOY ADDITIONS ON Ti-46Al CASTINGS”
Published in the Proceedings of COM 2017- 56th annual Conference of Metallurgists hosting World Gold & Nickel Cobalt – 978-1-926872-36-0, August 27-30, 2017 Vancouver, Canadian Institute of Mining, Metallurgy and Petroleum

MetSoc Doctoral Scholarship
Georgios Kolliopoulos, University of Toronto

MetSoc Master Scholarship
Shauna Litke, University of British Columbia

Outstanding MetSoc Student Chapter
Unversité Laval



Call for Nominations

Want to nominate a deserving member within industry?

METSOC is a constituent society of the Canadian Institute of Mining, Metallurgy and Petroleum (CIM).
Switch to desktop