MetSoc Award for Research excellence


The MetSoc Research Excellence Award was established by the Aluminum Company of Canada Limited for “a highly significant contribution to the field of metallurgy”.

Sponsored by Rio Tinto

RioTinto_MetSoc Awards

2020 Recipient


Vladimiros PapangelakisVladimiros Papangelakis,

University of Toronto

CitationFor unique and exemplary contributions in the fundamentals of Hydrometallurgy, and Aqueous and Environmental Engineering. 

Vladimiros Papangelakis is a Professor and Industrial Research Chair in Water and Sustainable Extractive Metallurgy at the Department of Chemical Engineering and Applied Chemistry at the University of Toronto. He obtained a Diploma in Engineering from the National Technical University of Athens, Greece, as well as Masters and Ph.D. degrees from McGill University, Canada.

His teaching interests are in the area of aqueous and inorganic process chemistry, as well as chemical thermodynamics.  His research interests are in high-temperature hydrometallurgy, bio-enviro-hydrometallurgy, base metal and REE extraction, chemical modeling, as well as process water recovery and reuse.

He is currently the Director of the Institute for Water Innovation at the University of Toronto. He has been a past president of the Metallurgy and Materials Society (MetSoc) of the Canadian Institute of Mining, Metallurgy and Petroleum (CIM). He is the recipient of the Sherritt Hydrometallurgy Award, and the Canadian Materials Chemistry Award. He is a Fellow of CIM, and the Canadian Academy of Engineering (CAE).

1966 – L.M. Pidgeon, M.B.E.
1967 – W.C. Winegard
1968 – J.S.G. Kirkaldy
1969 – F.A. Forward1970 – W.H. Gauvin
1971 – C.S. Samis
1972 – J. Convey
1973 – J. Leja
1974 – W.M. Armstrong
1975 – K.W. Downes
1976 – W.M. Williams
1977 – A. Hone
1978 – H. Ross
1979 – J.M. Toguri1980 – F. Weinberg
1981 – W.G. Davenport
1982 – E. Peters
1983 – W.- K. Lu
1984 – C.R. Masson
1985 – G.M. Ritcey
1986 – S.N. Flengas
1987 – R.I.L. Guthrie
1988 – J.K. Brimacombe
1989 – E.W. Dewing1990 – J.J. Jonas
1991 – A. McLean
1992 – J.E. Gruzleski
1993 – E.B. Hawbolt
1994 – J.E. Dutrizac
1995 – G.C. Weatherly
1996 – J.A. Finch
1997 – N.J. Themelis
1998 – R. Meadowcroft
1999 – E. Krause2000 – H. McQueen
2001 – T.T. Chen
2002 – J.A. Szpunar
2003 – G. Kaiura
2004 – J. Laskowski
2005 – D. Dreisinger
2006 – E. Ozberk
2007 – G. A. Irons
2008 – R. Berezowsky
2009 – A. Plumtree2010 – Mahesh Chaturvedi
2011 – Gary R. Purdy
2012 – David S. Wilkinson
2013 – C. Ravindran
2014 – M. Sahoo
2015 – D. Chen
2016 – Z. Xu
2017 – G.P. Demopoulos
2018 – not attributed
2019 – H. Henein


The MetSoc Award is the premier award for contribution to the metallurgy or materials field by a MetSoc member academic or research scientist in any Canadian research laboratory or Canadian university. The award recognizes a lifetime contribution in teaching and research or outstanding individual work resulting in a significant breakthrough in the metallurgy or materials practices. 

All nominees must have a minimum of five years of CIM National membership and be in good standing.  Membership is not required to be consecutive but the member has to have the current and previous year in good standing. Exceptions to this membership requirement may be made in the case where a candidate has a substantial historical record of contributions to MetSoc. The contributions and impact must be to the benefit of Canada.

There is no cash prize for this award.

Start Nomination

Please refer to the METSOC AWARDS page for details on nomination dates and deadlines.



Nominator uploads either a concise CV of nominee or in the case of a process, a recent paper, relevant to the process being nominated, to the web site. Nominator/co-nominators should consider approaching nominees themselves to request the CV. In the case of a process, the recent paper is likely already available.

The CV should contain the following information:

  • Major contributions relevant to the award
  • A record of at least five relevant patents and papers authored by the nominee plus a count of other patents and papers.
  • A service history related to CIM/MetSoc if applicable
  • A record of the years of membership in CIM.
  • A listing of volunteer activities if applicable
  • A listing of awards previously received
  • A listing of academic achievements

If the CV does not contain all items, the nominator should fill in the information in the Contributions text box in the online form (this will be available in the software system when the Call opens).


  • A nominator can put forward only one candidate up for nomination in each award category. (as of 2020)
  • No Member of the Executive Board shall be nominated while in office. The nomination will be held until the term on the executive board is expired.
  • Each award shall be made from time to time as circumstances warrant with no more than one award recipient per year.
  • The nominators are responsible for verifying that all conditions of the award have been satisfied and all procedures were properly followed in making the nomination.
  • All nominations will stand for three years.
  • The adjudication of the award shall be made by the MetSoc Awards Committee of The Metallurgy and Materials Society of CIM.
  • The award shall be presented at the Awards Banquet of the Conference of Metallurgists.
  • Posthumous awards will be allowed only if the candidate has already been shortlisted.
  • Self nominations are not permitted.
METSOC is a constituent society of the Canadian Institute of Mining, Metallurgy and Petroleum (CIM).
Switch to desktop