MetSoc Distinguished Materials Scientist Award

The award recognizes highly significant contributions in the field of materials engineering. The Materials Science and Engineering Section of The Metallurgy & Materials Society of CIM administers the award.

2021 Recipient

Mathieu Brochu,

McGill University

Citation: In recognition of significant and novel contributions to a broad range of Advanced Materials Processing.

Prof. Brochu is an Associate Professor in the Department of Mining and Materials Engineering at McGill University and the Director of the Powder Processing and Additive Manufacturing of Advanced Materials Laboratory. He is co-director of the NSERC network on Holistic Innovation on Additive Manufacturing and co-director of the Canadian Additive Manufacturing Network. Prior to joining McGill in 2004, Prof. Brochu held key AM-related positions: he was the Research Officer on electron beam welding and free-forming of aerospace materials at the NRC-IAR-AMTC, and Post Doctoral Fellow at Sandia National Laboratories. He is leading research projects to demystify the competitive interactions between metal powder engineering, their AM and sinterability and their response to heat treatment. His research team focuses on AM of unweldable alloys and hard to print geometries, improvement of powder processing and behavior and alloy development. He received several distinctions, including the ASM Bradley Stoughton Award for Young Teachers (2009), the METSOC Brimacombe Award (2011), the AAC Donald I. Johnson Award (2014) and few best paper awards.


1979 – J.D. Embury

1980 – E.C.W. Perryman
1981 – E.G. Behal
1982 – J.J. Jonas
1983 – D.B. McCutcheon
1984 – J.A. Schey
1985 – A. Mitchell
1986 – J.D. Boyd
1987 – L.R. Morris
1988 – G.C. Weatherly
1989 – W. Wallace

1990 – D.J. Lloyd
1991 – W.R. Tyson
1992 – I. Ritchie
1993 – J.E. Gruzleski
1994 – J.I. Dickson
1995 – B. Hawbolt
1996 – S.R. MacEwen
1997 – M. Sahoo
1998 – R.A.L. Drew
1999 – I.V. Samarasekera

2000 – U. Erb
2001 – G. Palumbo
2002 – M. Chaturvedi
2003 – S. Yue
2004 – D. Wilkinson
2005 – H. King
2006 – H. Mostaghaci
2007 – M. Militzer
2008 – F. Ajersch
2009 – Gary R. Purdy

2010 – No Award
2011 – Arthur Pelton
2012 – Michel Rigaud
2013 – A. McLean
2014 – R. Ravindran
2015 – A. Alfantazi
2016 – D. Chen
2017 – P. Wanjara
2018 – Xinjin Cao
2019 – Frank Cheng
2020 – D. Li

Start Nomination

Please refer to the REQUIREMENTS & PROCESS FOR NOMINATION webpage.



  1. Fill in the contribution box – a summary of why this person is being nominated (see item 3) with any information that is not included in the CV.
  2. Fill in the citation – in 15 words, what this person is being recognized for.
  3. Nominator uploads either a concise CV of the nominee or in the case of a process, a recent paper, relevant to the process being nominated, to the website. Nominators should consider approaching nominees themselves to request the CV. In the case of a process, the recent paper is likely already available. The CV should contain the following information:
  • Major contributions relevant to the award
  • A record of at least five relevant patents and papers authored by the nominee plus a count of other patents and papers.
  • A service history related to CIM/MetSoc if applicable
  • A record of the years of membership in CIM.
  • A listing of volunteer activities if applicable
  • A listing of awards previously received
  • A listing of academic achievements



  • A nominator can put forward only one candidate up for nomination in each award category. NEW AS OF the year 2020
  • No Member of the Executive Board shall be nominated while in office. The nomination will be held until the term on the executive board is expired.
  • Each award shall be made from time to time as circumstances warrant with no more than one award recipient per year.
  • The nominators are responsible for verifying that all conditions of the award have been satisfied and all procedures were properly followed in making the nomination.
  • All nominations will stand for three years.
  • The adjudication of the award shall be made by the MetSoc Awards Committee of The Metallurgy and Materials Society of CIM.
  • The award shall be presented at the Awards Banquet of the Conference of Metallurgists.
  • Posthumous awards will be allowed only if the candidate has already been shortlisted.
  • Self-nominations are not permitted.
METSOC is a constituent society of the Canadian Institute of Mining, Metallurgy and Petroleum (CIM).
Switch to desktop