MetSoc Environmental Award


This award was created by Teck in order to promote innovation and development in the field of environmental control technology for the metallurgical and materials industry in Canada. Future advances in the industry depend on the development of environmentally safe technologies. The award recognizes significant contributions by a MetSoc member to the field of environmental science and engineering and sustainable development in the metallurgical and materials industry.

This award is supported by:

TECK logo MetSoc Awards

2020 Recipient

Bruce R. Conard

Citation: For a career spent promoting the production of metals in a safe and sustainable manner.

Bruce R. Conard received a Ph.D. degree in physical chemistry from Iowa State University in 1969. After post-doctoral work in chemical physics at the University of Kansas, in 1973 he joined Inco Limited and carried out fundamental and applied research in pyrometallurgy and served as department head in electrochemistry and hydrometallurgy research programs. He was Director of Process Research for five years prior to being appointed 1995 Vice-president with corporate responsibility for scientific matters, policies and programs dealing with environmental and occupational health. He was awarded the Sheridan Park Technical Achievement Award in 1988, received the Metallurgical Society’s Sherritt Award in 1991, the Society’s Silver Medal in 1996, was made a Fellow of the Canadian Institute of Mining, Metallurgy and Petroleum (CIM) in 1996 and was named a CIM Distinguished Lecturer in 2013. His activities since his retirement in 2004 center around trying to bring sound science to the issues of metals toxicity, health risk assessment, and environmental sustainability. He is particularly focused on communicating facts on the crisis of climate change.

2004 – M. Sudbury
2005 – M. Kalin
2006 – R. Rao
2007 – L. Amaratunga
2008 – G. Monteith
2009 – No award

2010 – C. Pickles
2011 – R. Lawrence
2012 – V.I Lakshmanan
2013 – Z. Xu
2014 – G.P. Demopoulos
2015 – C. Jia
2016 – no award
2017 – P.Queneau
2018 – not attributed
2019 – G. Holcroft


The nominee must have a clear record of impact (important changes related in policy, procedure or process) on the environment. This record should be highlighted in the nomination letter and in the citation.

The Metallurgy and Materials Society of CIM administers the award. The award can be given to an individual or a group of individuals.

All nominees must have a minimum of five years of CIM National membership and be in good standing.  Membership is not required to be consecutive but the member has to have the current and previous year in good standing. Exceptions to this membership requirement may be made in the case where a candidate has a substantial historical record of contributions to MetSoc. The contributions and impact must be to the benefit of Canada.

There is no cash prize for this award.


Start Nomination

Please refer to the METSOC AWARDS page for details on nomination dates and deadlines.



Nominator uploads either a concise CV of nominee or in the case of a process, a recent paper, relevant to the process being nominated, to the web site. Nominator/co-nominators should consider approaching nominees themselves to request the CV. In the case of a process, the recent paper is likely already available. The CV should contain the following information:

  • Major contributions relevant to the award
  • A record of at least five relevant patents and papers authored by the nominee plus a count of other patents and papers.
  • A service history related to CIM/MetSoc if applicable
  • A record of the years of membership in CIM.
  • A listing of volunteer activities if applicable
  • A listing of awards previously received
  • A listing of academic achievements

If the CV does not contain all items, the nominator should fill in the information in the Contributions text box in the online form (this will be available in the software system when the Call opens).


  • A nominator can put forward only one candidate up for nomination in each award category. NEW as of the year 2020
  • No Member of the Executive Board shall be nominated while in office. The nomination will be held until the term on the executive board is expired.
  • Each award shall be made from time to time as circumstances warrant with no more than one award recipient per year.
  • The nominators are responsible for verifying that all conditions of the award have been satisfied and all procedures were properly followed in making the nomination.
  • All nominations will stand for three years.
  • The adjudication of the award shall be made by the MetSoc Awards Committee of The Metallurgy and Materials Society of CIM.
  • The award shall be presented at the Awards Banquet of the Conference of Metallurgists.
  • Posthumous awards will be allowed only if the candidate has already been shortlisted.
  • Self-nominations are not permitted.
METSOC is a constituent society of the Canadian Institute of Mining, Metallurgy and Petroleum (CIM).
Switch to desktop