MetSoc Executive Board of Directors

The MetSoc Executive Board of Directors is composed of the President, Past President, four Vice-Presidents, Treasurer and Secretary.


Stephen Corbin

NSERC/Pratt and Whitney Canada Industrial Research Chair
Professor of Materials Engineering at Dalhousie University

Dr. Corbin has been a Professor of Materials Engineering since 1997, when he first took up a position at the University of Waterloo in Waterloo, Ontario. Dr. Corbin is currently the NSERC/Pratt and Whitney Canada Industrial Research Chair in Structural Brazing and Processing of Powder Metallurgy Superalloys at Dalhousie University in Halifax, Nova Scotia.

His current work is primarily in the areas of powder metallurgy and joining of light metals (e.g. Al and Ti) and Ni-based superalloys for aerospace and automotive applications. For more details on Dr. Corbin’s research Team, interests and our High Temperature Thermal Analysis Laboratory (HTTAL) visit the laboratory’s website.

Immediate Past President

Mansoor Barati

Ph.D. in Metallurgy Engineering
Professor at The University of Toronto

Mansoor Barati is Gerald R. Heffernan Chair and Professor in Sustainable Materials Processing at the University of Toronto. His research is centered on reducing the environmental footprint and lowering the consumption of energy and resources in the metals industry, as well as the development of high-quality materials for renewable energy systems. He joined the University of Toronto after one year at WorleyParsons and established a Sustainable Materials Processing research lab where over 80 researchers have worked in the past 10 years. His research has been highlighted in about 200 publications and patents has been recognized by many awards such as CMQ Best paper award, JOM best paper award, Metallurgical and Materials Transaction B Editor’s Choice Award, TMS Extraction & Processing Division Technology Award, Bicomacombe award, and PEO Young Engineer medal.

Ist Vice-President

Janice Zinck

Executive Director, Geoscience and Mines, Government of Nova Scotia

  • Conference Chair for 2022 Conference of Metallurgists

Janice Zinck is the Executive Director, Geoscience and Mines at the Government of Nova Scotia. She was previously the Director of CanmetMINES, a division of the Minerals and Metals Sector of Natural Resources Canada (NRCan) dedicated to research, development and innovation. She has more than 25 years of experience as a multidisciplinary program leader focused on addressing environment and processing issues related to resource development. She has contributed to numerous multilateral dialogue initiatives at the national and international levels during which she has been able to develop strategic priorities, partnerships and collaborations. She has been instrumental in the creation of the Canadian Green Mines Initiative, and more recently in the national program dedicated to the sustainable development of rare earth element (REE) and chromite resources in Canada. Read the full biography here.

2nd Vice-President

Roki Fukuzawa

Specialist at Hatch

  • Conference Chair for 2023 Conference of Metallurgists

Roki Fukuzawa is a Specialist at Hatch with more than thirteen years of experience in the design and engineering of off-gas handling systems for metallurgical clients in copper, nickel, zinc and gold industries. She has worked on off-gas projects from conceptual studies to detailed engineering. Read the full biography here.

3rd Vice-President

Erin Bobicki

Associate Professor, University of Alberta

  • Conference Chair for 2024 Conference of Metallurgists

Professor Bobicki’s research interests include microwave applications in mineral processing, comminution, bioreagent development, the rheology of complex mineral slurries, and value recovery from waste materials. She is currently commercializing microwave technology for the mining industry with Sepro Mineral Systems and is a Founding Director of Aurora Hydrogen, a startup developing technology for emission-free hydrogen production.

4th Vice-President

Julie Lévesque

R&D project manager, Centre de métallurgie du Québec

  • Conference Chair for 2025 Conference of Metallurgists

Julie Lévesque is an R&D project manager at Quebec Metallurgy Center (CMQ), where she is the leader of the mechanical forming axis. She has close to 15 years of experience in the optimization of forming processes in collaboration with industries in the automotive, aerospace and packaging industry, amongst others.

Julie has been involved in MetSoc since 2017 as the Chair of the Light Metals technical section. She was the chair of the Light Metal Technology – Applications for the Transportation Industry at COM 2018 and a co-chair of other Light Metals symposiums at COM in 2019 and 2020. She is also active in her community, being a Women Ambassador of the Profession for the Ordre des ingénieurs du Québec (Quebec Professional Engineers order).


Greg Richards

Teck Metals, Retired

Greg Richards graduated in metallurgical engineering from the University of British Columbia. He continued with the department, teaching process metallurgy and conducting research in non-ferrous pyrometallurgy. He later moved to Cominco Research, working in their metallurgical research group, and then to the technical services department of Trail Operations, Teck Metals Ltd. He recently retired in his position as superintendent of knowledge management, responsible for developing systems for the capture and transfer of critical business knowledge. He has served as a board member of the Metallurgy and Materials Society of CIM since 2007.


Dimitrios Filippou

RioExpert Metallurgist, Rio Tinto Iron & Titanium, Sorel-Tracy, QC

Dimitrios Filippou, Eng., Ph.D. is a metallurgical engineer with extensive experience in metal extraction R&D, process upscaling and optimisation, life cycle assessment and technology strategy development. He holds a Dipl. Eng. from the National Technical University of Athens (1988) and a Ph.D. degree from McGill University (1994). Since 2003, he works for the TiO2 Products Group of Rio Tinto Iron & Titanium.

Dimitrios maintains strong ties to professional and research communities. He served as Secretary and Chair of the Hydrometallurgy Section of MetSoc (2009-2016), and he co-chaired the symposium “Pressure Hydrometallurgy 2012.”


METSOC is a constituent society of the Canadian Institute of Mining, Metallurgy and Petroleum (CIM).
Switch to desktop