MetSoc Silver Medal


The Silver Medal, which was initiated in 1986, is awarded to individuals who have built, sustained and developed the Metallurgy and Materials Society of CIM into the present strong, internationally renowned organization.

2021 Recipient

Michael Collins

Sherritt (Retired)

Citation: In recognition of his consistent leadership and many contributions to the development and maintenance of the Metallurgy and Materials Society of CIM.

Mike Collins earned a doctorate in Chemistry from McMaster University in 1984. Following completion of a visiting fellowship with the National Research Council in Ottawa, he joined the Research group of Sherritt Gordon Mines Limited, in Fort Saskatchewan, in 1985. Mike became Research Manager at Sherritt in 1997 and held several management positions with Dynatec Corporation, Metallurgical Technologies Division, between 1997 and 2007. Since the reacquisition of Dynatec by Sherritt International Corporation in 2007, Mike has managed the Research and Analytical groups (together called Process Development) within the Sherritt Technologies division. Work at Sherritt and Dynatec has primarily involved laboratory and pilot plant testing in the field of pressure hydrometallurgy. Mike has published over ninety papers in the fields of chemistry and hydrometallurgy and is the holder of ten patents. He has chaired symposia, edited proceedings and presented at short courses for numerous MetSoc conferences over the past 25 years, has twice been selected to chair the Hydrometallurgy Section of MetSoc, was the 2005 recipient of the Sherritt Hydrometallurgy Award and was awarded a CIM Fellowship in 2014.


1986 – J.M. Toguri
1987 – N.G. Thomas
1988 – M. Rigaud
1989 – J.E. Dutrizac
1990 – W.T. Thompson
1991 – W. Williams
1992 – P. Tarassoff
1993 – L. Seeley
1994 – G.M. Ritcey
1995 – A. Plumpton
1996 – B.R. Conard
1997 – E. Ozberk
1998 – G.L. Bolton
1999 – F. Habashi
2000 – C. Dìaz
2001 – J.M. Walsh
2002 – A. Vahed
2003 – C. Twigge-Molecey
2004 – H. Henein
2005 – J. Finch
2006 – P.J. Mackey
2007 – H. W. King
2008 – S. Marcuson
2009 – G.P. Demopoulos
2010 – M. King
2011 – J. Kapusta
2012 – A. Allaire
2013 – N. Stubina
2014 – G. Richards
2015 – M. Sahoo
2016 – D. Wilkinson
2017 – D. Boyd
2018 – P. Wanjara
2019 – B. Davis
2020 – M. Wells
This award is administered by the Past Presidents of the Society.  Nominations at large are not collected, but if you have a suggestion of a member that deserves this recognition, please advise us at


The Silver Medal is to recognize individuals who have contributed effectively over a long period, to the growth of MetSoc.  The nomination(s) for, and award of, the Silver Medal is the responsibility of the Past President and is not open to general nominations from the membership at large. Balloting is by all Past Presidents. 

There is no cash prize to this award.

Please refer to the METSOC AWARDS page for details on nomination dates and deadlines.

METSOC is a constituent society of the Canadian Institute of Mining, Metallurgy and Petroleum (CIM).
Switch to desktop