MetSoc Standing Committees


The Metallurgy and Materials Society – Standing Committee Listing

MetSoc’s standing committees include: publication, membership services, student activities, and historical metallurgy. Each committee serves the interest of membership and activities related to the Metallurgy and Materials Society (MetSoc) of the Canadian Institute of Mining, Metallurgy and Petroleum (CIM). In addition to the standing committees, MetSoc has seven technical sections that focus on specific metallurgy and materials branches.  For more information about MetSoc and the organization or for details related to membership, click here!


André Phillion
Materials Science and Engineering, McMaster University
Tel: +1 905 525 9140 x24046

CMQ Editor-in-Chief

(under Publications)

Joe McDermid
McMaster University

Membership Services-Chair

Poonam Madan, P.Ag, PMP
Senior Advisor, Sustainability
Sherritt International Corporation
Office Telephone: 780.992.7475

Student Activities-Chair

Abu Syed Kabir, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Department of Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering
Carleton University
Office Telephone: (613) 520-2600 ext. 8497

Historical Metallurgy-Chair

Erin Bobicki, PhD, P.Eng
Assistant Professor
Lassonde Institute of Mining, University of Toronto
Office Telephone: 416-978-5427

Click here to see more about the Historical Metallurgy Committee


METSOC is a constituent society of the Canadian Institute of Mining, Metallurgy and Petroleum (CIM).
Switch to desktop